• A A

Home > Entertainment > Sport > Countries > North America > US > Sports > NFC and AFC Compared

Difference Between NFC and AFC


NFC and AFC are conferences of NFL (National Football League) of America. NFC stands for National Football Conference and AFC stands for American Football Conference. Each conference has four divisions and 16 teams, which sums up to a total of 32 teams on the most attended sport league, NFL. Surely, there are some differences between NFC and AFC. As we all know, football is a very entertaining sport and football fans would like to know the difference between NFC and AFC.


After National Football League (NFL) merged with American Football Leahue (AFL), NFC was born. The original NFL logo is a big, blue N with 3 stars aligned diagonally, representing the 3 divisions it used to have since 1970 to 2001. These were the Eastern, Central and Western divisions. In 2002, NFC gained one more division and NFL updated its logo, now having 4 stars for the 4 divisions it now represents.


AFC was also created after the merging of NFL AND AFL in 1970. The 10 former teams of AFL together with NFL teams which were Cleveland Browns, Pittsburgh Steelers and Baltimore Colts joined AFC. The original logo was a big, red A with 3 stars on each side. The updated logo for AFC starting 2010 is a big, red A with 4 stars aligned diagonally at the right side.

Difference between NFC and AFC

NFC and AFC are known as rivals in the world of football but due to public demand, they formed a Pro League which attracted more football fans and money for both. Most of football fans do not know the difference between the two.

› NFC and AFC are both members of the NFL that comprises 4 divisions with 16 teams each.

› Both logos have 4 stars aligned diagonally. NFC logo has a blue N in the center and AFC logo has a red A in the center.

› NFC has their own playoffs to be able to determine the next champ at the end of each regular season. The same with AFC, before the end of each season, AFC champ will be selected. Then, each champ will then face in the Super Bowl to be able to be the next NFL champ.

› So, NFC and AFC, though they are both football conferences with the same number of teams, both have different teams assigned to them which would determine the champ of all champs.


No related posts.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Copyright © 2010-2012 Difference Between. All rights reserved.Protected by Copyscape Web Plagiarism Detection
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy : Legal.
hit counters
eXTReMe Tracker
hit counters