Difference Between State and Union Territory

State vs Union Territory

India is a huge country that has been divided into states and union territories for the purpose of administration. Rather, it would be prudent to say it is a union of states and union territories. The states have been created along linguistic lines as can be seen by the action of state reorganization committee, though the number of states continues to increase. At present there are 28 states and 7 union territories in India. To an outsider there is not much of a difference between a state and a union territory, but a closer look reveals that both differ in terms of administration and powers they have vis-à-vis central government. This article intends to highlight the differences between a state and a union territory.

States in India have historic links with adjacent states and have existed for long time, though there have been minor changes in geographies of states because of reorganization along linguistic lines in 1956. On the other hand, union territories are areas that can at best be considered French and Portuguese colonies as these two were the ruling powers before British took control of the whole of India. Even at the peak of British influence, union territories had French or Portuguese influence, which is bet exemplified in the case of union territory of Goa, which got independence from Portuguese control in 1962, whereas rest of India got independence from British rule in 1947.

Of the 7 union territories, Delhi, which has become the National Capital Territory in addition to being a union territory and Pondicherry are the only ones to have their own legislations and council of ministers. Rests of the union territories are governed directly by the central government through an administrator called Lieutenant Governor who is appointed by the Central government and is a representative of the President of India. Thus, the major difference between states and union territories lies in the fact that states are administrative units having their own governments while union territories are administrative units that are ruled directly by the central government. Even in the case of Pondicherry and Delhi that have their respective governments, powers are much less than proper states. Delhi that got the status of national capital Territory in 1991 is an exception as it is on its way to full statehood and can be considered as ahead of rest of the union territories.

What is the difference between State and Union Territory?

• States are administrative units having their own legislation and elected chief ministers as head of the government.

• Union Territories are administrative areas that are ruled directly by the central government through Lt. Governor who is appointed by the President of India.

• Pondicherry and Delhi are exceptions as they have full fledged legislative assemblies and governments.

  • disqus_ASIWc6GLJK

    Thank u so much.. for the post