Difference Between Pacific Time and Eastern Time

Pacific Time vs Eastern Time


The US Time Zones are nine in number and both Pacific Time and Easter Time belong to the US Time Zones. The other seven are Atlantic, Central, Mountain, Alaska, Hawaii-Aleutian, Samoa and Chamorro.

The Pacific Standard Time (PST) is also known as Pacific Coast Time or West Coast Time. The Pacific Time zone runs through Pacific Coast of Canada and US. In USA and Canada, the Pacific Standard Time (PST) is 8 hours behind UTC and Pacific Daylight Time (PDT) is 7 hours behind UTC. The Pacific Time Zone includes places like California, Washington, Oregon, Nevada and Idaho.

The Eastern Time zone is called the Eastern Time especially in the United States of America and Canada. Ontario, Quebec and East central Nunavut are part of the Eastern Time zone. In the United States of America 18 states and the District of Columbia are entirely situated within the Eastern Time zone. The other 6 states are split between the Central Time zone and the Eastern Time zone. Michigan, Indiana, Georgia, Tennessee, Florida and Kentucky are in the Eastern time zone. It is important to note that Washington D.C. also observes only the Eastern Time as it falls under this zone.

The Eastern Standard Time in US and Canada are 5 hours behind the UTC during winter, it is known as Eastern Standard Time; that is EST is UTC – 5. During daylight saving in summer ET is 4 hours behind the UTC time; that is called Eastern Daylight Time. Many states in Australia also comes under Eastern time zone, its known as AEST, which is 10 hours in front of UTC (UTC + 10).

New South Wales, Australian Capital Territory, Victoria, Tasmania and Queensland come under the Australian Eastern Standard Time Zone. QLD does not have daylight saving time (DST). The Eastern Daylight Time in Australia (AEDT) is 11 hours ahead of UTC (UTC + 11).

The Pacific and Eastern Time Zones remain three hours apart from each other. The same is true even during the cooler months, and in the warmer months. It is normally daylight saving time in the warmer months. While discussing time zones in the United States of America you have to be informed about the fact that most states are entirely contained in one time zone. However, there are some states in the United States of America that fall in two time zones as well.

The reason why some states in the United State of America fall under two time zones is due several factors. Some of these factors include the expanse of the state, geographical conditions of the state, socio-political conditions of the state and the economic conditions of the state for that matter.

One of the best examples of two areas that lie close to each other but come under different time zones is Washington and Washington DC. While Washington falls under the Pacific Time Zone, Washington DC falls under the Eastern Time Zone.

Images Courtesy: Pacific Time Zone via Wikicommons

In Short:

There is 3 hours difference between Pacific Time and Eastern Time.

Eastern Time in US and Canada

Eastern Standard Time (EST) = UTC – 5

Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) = UTC – 4

Eastern Time in Australia

Eastern Standard Time (AEST) = UTC + 10

Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT) = UTC + 11

Pacific Time in US and Canada

Pacific Standard Time (PST) = UTC – 8

Eastern Daylight Time (PDT) = UTC – 7