Difference Between Telophase 1 and 2

Telophase 1 vs 2

Meiosis is an important process in the sexual reproduction, and it has two main nuclear divisions known as Meiosis I and Meiosis II. Each nuclear division can be subdivided into different stages called Prophase, Metaphase, Anaphase, and Telophase. Telophase means the final stage or termination of both Meiosis and Mitosis. The final stage of meiosis I is called Telophase I, and the final stage of meiosis II is called Telophase II.

Telophase 1

This is the termination stage of Meiosis I. At the beginning of this stage, each half of the cell contains a complete haploid set of chromosomes which have two sister chromatids. In Telophase I, the reformation of the nuclear envelope occurs around the chromosome set and spindle and astral rays gradually disappears. Usually the process of Cytokinesis begins simultaneously with Telophase I and results two haploid daughter cells at the end.

Telophase 2

This is the final stage of Meiosis II. Actually this is the termination of whole meiosis process. In Telophase II, the formation of nuclei and the decondensation of chromosomes occur and spindle apparatus disappears. However, the cells that having rapid meiosis do not undergo decondensation. Ultimately, one parent cell produces four daughter cells, each with a haploid set of chromosomes.

What is the difference between Telophase 1 and Telophase 2?

• Telophase I occurs at the end of Meiosis I while Telophase II is the final stage of Meiosis II.

• Telophase I results two daughter cells, whereas Telophase II results four daughter cells at the end of the process.

• In Telophase I each daughter cell has a pair of chromatids, but in Telophase II, chromatids are not in pairs.