Difference Between Golden Globes and Oscars

Golden Globes vs Oscars

When it comes to entertainment, various media such as the television, motion pictures and various means of art have reserved their own special place in the hearts of the spectators. However, some of the program and works of arts need expert evaluation in order to appreciate the true artistry of these pieces. Golden globes and Oscars are two such programs or awards created for this purpose.

What is Golden Globes?

An American award presented by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA) comprising of 93 members, the Golden Globe Awards recognizes and awards excellence in film and television, both foreign and domestic. A major part of the film industry’s awards season, the formal annual ceremony and dinner culminates each year with the presenting of awards, immediately to be followed by Academy awards also known as the Oscars.

It was in 1943 that a group of writers came together to form the Hollywood Foreign Press Association which in turn created the Golden Globe Awards. The first Golden Globe Awards was held late in January 1944, at the 20th Century-Fox studios, honouring the best achievements in 1943 filmmaking. Today, the Golden Globes Awards is telecast to 167 countries worldwide, making it one of the most widely watched awards programs in the world. Revenues gained from this annual ceremony enables the HFPA to make donations towards  entertainment-related charities as well as funding scholarships and other programs for aspiring film and television professionals.

What is Oscars?

Also known as the Academy Awards, Oscars is an annual awards ceremony that recognizes and awards excellence in the film industry. First presented in 1929 at the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel, the awards are overseen by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS), the winners are awarded with the statuette ‘Academy Award of Merit’ better known as the Oscar.

In order to be eligible for an Oscar, a film must open in Los Angeles County, California, in the previous calendar year, from midnight at the start of 1 January to midnight at the end of 31 December, that is except for the Best Foreign Language Film category. Except for short subject awards, it must also be  a minimum of 40 minutes and must be submitted in either in 48 frame/s or 24 frame/s progressive scan digital cinema format  of or more than 1280×720 or on a 35 mm or 70 mm film print or with a native resolution.

First telecast in 1953, the Oscars is the oldest entertainment awards ceremony, after which the Grammy Awards (music), Emmy Awards (television), and Tony Awards (theatre) were modelled. Today, the Academy awards is telecast live in over 200 countries.   

What is the difference between Oscars and Golden Globes?

Often honouring similar films and talents, it is quite easy to get confused between the Oscars and the Golden Globes. While both these awards have been serving their purposes to the fields of television and film, each have their unique characteristics that set them apart.

• Having been awarded since 1929, the Oscars is the oldest entertainment awards ceremony to be held in the world. The Golden Globes was first awarded in 1944.

• The Golden Globe awards is presented by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA) while the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) presents the Oscars.

• The Golden Globe Awards is given to all forms of media whereas the Oscars are awarded exclusively to the category of motion pictures.

• The voting for Golden Globe is done by international journalists affiliated with the media outside the USA while living in Hollywood. The voting for Oscars is done by the academy’s committee members.